The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting

C. Vann Woodward Dissertation Prize

The Southern Historical Association invites submissions for the C. Vann Woodward Dissertation Prize for 2016 to be presented for the best dissertation in southern history completed and defended in 2015.

The prize consists of a $3,000 stipend and is funded by the Woodward Fund, based on a generous bequest left to the SHA by C. Vann Woodward. Authors should submit the following information in a single file via e-mail to Sheree Dendy by May 1, 2016:

> cover letter with full contact information

> title page, abstract, and table of contents of the dissertation

> sample chapter of the dissertation

> letter of support from the dissertation advisor

The full dissertation should not be submitted. Based on the materials described above, the prize committee will decide which candidates will be invited to submit the full dissertation for further consideration. Any inquiries regarding the prize and its guidelines should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer.



Blain Roberts, Chair
California State University, Fresno

Thomas J. Appleton Jr.
Eastern Kentucky University

Megan Shockley
Clemson University

2015 C. Vann Woodward Award Winner

Andrew Horowitz, "The End of Empire, Louisiana: Disaster and Recovery on the Gulf Coast, 1915-2012, Yale University

Past Winners

2002 - Robert Perkinson
"The Birth of the Texas Prison Empire, 1865-1915" Yale University

2003 - Chandra Miller Manning
"What This Cruel War Was Over: Why Union and Confederate Soldiers Thought They Were Fighting the Civil War" Harvard University

2004 - Edward J. Blum
"Reforging the White Republic: Race, Protestantism, and American Nationalism, 1865-1898"
University of Kentucky

2005 - Françoise N. Hamlin
"'The Book Hasn't Closed, The Story Isn't Finished': Continuing Histories of the Civil Rights Movement" Yale University

2006 - Christopher Myers Asch
"No Compromise: The Freedom Struggles of James O. Eastland and Fannie Lou Hamer"
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2007 - Bethany E. Moreton
"The Soul of the Service Economy: Wal-Mart and the Making of Christian Free Enterprise 1929-1994"
Yale University

2008 - Max Grivno
"'There Slavery Cannot Dwell': Agriculture and Labor in Northern Maryland, 1790-1860"
University of Maryland

2009 - Benjamin E. Wise
"Cosmopolitan Southerner: The Life and World of William Alexander Percy"
Rice University

2010 - Robert Blakeslee Gilpin
"John Brown Still Lives! America's Long Reckoning with Violence, Equality, and Change"

2011 - Co-Winner Darren Grem
"The Blessings of Business: Corporate America and Conservative Evangelicalism in the Sunbelt Age, 1945-2000," University of Georgia, 2010

2011 - Co-Winner Drew Swanson
"Land of the Bright Leaf: Yellow Tobacco, Environment, and Culture along the Border of Virginia and North Carolina," University of Georgia, 2010

2012 - Co-Winner Matthew J. Karp
"'This Vast Southern Empire': The South and the Foreign Policy of Slavery, 1833-1861," University of Pennsylvania, 2011

2012 - Co-Winner Crystal R. Sanders
"To Be Free of Fear: Black Women's Fight for Freedom Through the Child Development Group of Mississippi," Northwestern University, 2011

2013 - William Thomas Okie
"'Everything is Peaches Down in Georgia': Culture and Agriculture in the American South," University of Georgia, 2012

2014 - Craig B. Hollander
"Against a Sea of Troubles: Slave Trade Suppressionism During the Early Republic," Johns Hopkins University, 2013



University of Georgia Email SHA