The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting

The Bennett H. Wall Award

The Bennett H. Wall Award was established in 2000 to honor the long-term service of Bennett Wall, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the SHA for over thirty-three years (1952-1985), and as SHA President in 1988. In keeping with Professor Wall's own scholarly contribution to southern history, the Wall Prize will be awarded to the best book published in southern business or economic history over a two-year period. The next award will be made at the annual meeting in 2016 in St. Pete Beach, FL, for a book published in 2014-2015. Entries should be submitted to the committee members listed below before March 1, 2016.

Scott P. Marler, Chair
Department of History
219 Mitchell Hall
University of Memphis
Memphis, TN  38152

Kenneth Fones-Wolf
Department of History
202C Woodburn Hall
P.O. Box 6303
University of West Virginia
Morgantown, WV 26506-6303

Tammy Ingram
Department of History
66 George Street
College of Charleston
Charleston, SC 29424


The 2014 Bennett H. Wall Award Committee selected as the winner Kari Frederickson's Cold War Dixie: Militarization and Modernization in the American South published by the University of Georgia Press, 2013.

Past Winners

2002 - Curtis J. Evans
The Conquest of Labor: Daniel Pratt and Southern Industrialization, Louisiana State University Press, 2001

2004 - Jonathan D. Martin
Divided Mastery: Slave Hiring in the American South, Harvard University Press, 2004

2006 - Steven Deyle
Carry Me Back: Domestic Slave Trade in American Life, Oxford University Press, 2005

2008 - Jack Temple Kirby
Mockingbird Song: Ecological Landscapes of the South, University of North Carolina Press, 2006

2010 - Brian Schoen
The Fragile Fabric of Union: Cotton, Federal Politics, and the Global Origins of the Civil War, published by The Johns Hopkins University Press, 2009

2012 - Rebecca Sharpless
Cooking in Other Women's Kitchens, 1865-1960, published by the University of North Carolina Press, 2010


University of Georgia Email SHA