The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting
The Francis B. Simkins Award

The Francis B. Simkins Award is given for recognition of the best first book by an author in the field of southern history over a two-year period. The award is sponsored jointly with Longwood College and awarded in odd-numbered years. The winner will be selected from books published during 2015 and 2016 and will be given at the 2017 annual meeting in Dallas, Texas. Copies for consideration should be forwarded no later than March 1, 2017, to the following committee members.

Michele Gillespie, Chair
Dean of the College
Wake Forest University
1834 Wake Forest Road
Winston-Salem, NC 27106

Thavolia Glymph
Department of History
236 Friedl Bldg.
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708

Christine Heyrman
Department of History
236 John Munroe Hall
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716


The 2015 Francis B. Simkins Award Winner

Ellen Griffith Spears for her book, Baptized in PCBs:  Race, Pollution and Justice in an All-American Town, University of North Carolina Press, 2014

Past Winners

1977 - Virginia Spencer Carr
The Lonely Hunter: A Biography of Carson McCullers, Doubleday & Company, Inc, 1975

1979 - Dena J. Epstein
Sinful Tunes and Spirituals: Black Folk Music to the Civil War, University of Illinois Press, 1977

1981 - Jacquelyn Dowd Hall
Revolt Against Chivalry: Jessie Daniel Ames and the Women's Campaign Against Lynching, Columbia University Press, 1979

1983 - Daniel J. Singal
The War Within: From Victorian to Modernist Thought in the South, 1919-1945, University of North Carolina Press, 1982

1985 - Michael Wayne
The Reshaping of Plantation Society: The Natchez District, 1860-1880, Louisiana State University Press, 1983

1987 - Allan Kulikoff
Tobacco and Slaves: The Development of Southern Cultures in the Chesapeake, 1680-1800, University of North Carolina Press, 1986

1989 - Lacy K. Ford, Jr.
Origins of Southern Radicalism: The South Carolina Upcountry, 1800-1860, Oxford University Press, 1988

1991 - Robin D. G. Kelley (co-winner)
Hammer and Hoe: Alabama Communists during the Great Depression, University of North Carolina Press, 1990

Rachel N. Klein (co-winner)
Unification of a Slave State: The Rise of the Planter Class in the South Carolina Backcountry, 1760-1808, University of North Carolina Press, 1990

1993 - William Cohen
At Freedom's Edge: Black Mobility and the Southern White Quest for Racial Control, 1861-1915, Louisiana State University Press, 1991

1995 - Judith Kelleher Schafer
Slavery, the Civil Law, and the Supreme Court of Louisiana, Louisiana State University Press, 1994

1997 - Stephanie McCurry
Masters of Small Worlds: Yeoman Households, Gender Relations, and the Political Culture of the Antebellum South Carolina Low Country, Oxford University Press, 1995

1999 - Glenn T. Eskew
But for Birmingham: The Local and National Movements in the Civil Rights Struggle, University of North Carolina Press, 1997

2001 - Walter Johnson (co-winner)
Soul by Soul: Life Inside the Antebellum Slave Market, Harvard University Press, 1999

Jane Landers (co-winner)
Black Society in Spanish Florida, University of Illinois Press, 1999

2003 - Brian Kelly
Race, Class, and Power in the Alabama Coalfields, 1980-1921, University of Illinois Press, 2001

2005- Kirsten E. Wood
Masterful Women: Slaveholding Widows from the American Revolution through the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2004

2007 - Kevin M. Kruse
White Flight: Atlanta and the Making of Modern Conservatism, Princeton University Press, 2005

2009 - Susan Youngblood Ashmore (co-winner)
Carry It On: The War on Poverty and the Civil Rights Movement in Alabama, 1964-1972, University of Georgia Press, 2008

Edward Bartlett Rugemer (co-winner)
Problem of Emancipation: The Caribbean Roots of the American Civil War, Louisiana State University Press, 2008

2011 - Mark W. Geiger
Financial Fraud and Guerrilla Violence in Missouri's Civil War, 1861-1865, Yale University Press, 2010

2013 - James Giesen (co-winner)
Boll Weevil Blues: Cotton, Myth, and Power in the American South, University of Chicago Press, 2011

Yael Sternhell (co-winner)
Routes of War: The World of Movement in the Confederate South, Harvard University Press, 2012



University of Georgia Email SHA