The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting
The Frank L. and Harriet C. Owsley Award

The Frank L. and Harriet C. Owsley Award is given in recognition of a distinguished book in southern history published in even-numbered years and is awarded in odd-numbered years. It will next be awarded at the annual meeting in 2017 in Dallas, Texas, for a book published during 2016. Entries should be submitted to the committee members listed below before March 1, 2017.

Jacqueline Jones, Chair
Department of History
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas 78712

Jane Landers
Department of History
Benson Hall
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37235

Brenda Stevenson
Department of History
6265 Bunche Hall
Box 951473
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1473

The 2015 Frank L. and Harriet C. Owsley Award Winner

Gregory E. O'Malley's Final Passages:  The Intercolonial Slave Trade of British America, 1619-1807, published by the University of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Institute, 2014.

Past Winners

1985 - Joel Williamson
The Crucible of Race: Black-White Relations in the American South Since Emancipation, Oxford University Press, 1984

1987 - Gavin Wright
Old South New South: Revolutions in the Southern Economy Since the Civil War, Basic Book, Inc., 1986

1989 - Eric Foner
Reconstruction: America's Unfinished Revolution, 1863-1877, Harper & Row, 1988

1991 - William W. Freehling
The Road to Disunion: Secessionists at Bay, 1776-1854, Oxford University Press, 1990

1993 - Edward L. Ayers
Promise of the New South: Life After Reconstruction, Oxford University Press, 1992

1995 - Nancy MacLean
Behind the Mask of Chivalry: The Making of the Second Ku Klux Klan, Oxford University Press, 1994

1997 - Thomas D. Morris
Southern Slavery and the Law, 1619-1860, University of North Carolina Press, 1996

1999 - Ira Berlin (co-winner)
Many Thousands Gone: The First Two Centuries of Slavery in North America, Harvard University Press, 1998

Philip D. Morgan (co-winner)
Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry, University of North Carolina Press, 1998

2001 - Ronald Hoffman (in collaboration with) Sally D. Mason
Princes of Ireland, Planters of Maryland: A Carroll Saga, 1500-1782, University of North Carolina Press, 2000

2003 - Sharla Fett
Working Cures: Healing, Health,and Power on Southern Slave Plantations, University of North Carolina Press, 2002

2005 - Michael O'Brien
Conjectures of Order: Intellectual Life and the American South, 1810-1860, University of North Carolina Press, 2004

2007 - Raymond Arsenault
Freedom Riders: 1961 and the Struggle for Racial Justice, Oxford University Press, 2006

2009 - Annette Gordon-Reed
The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family, W.W. Norton, 2008

2011 - Lorena S. Walsh
Motives of Honor, Pleasure, and Profit: Plantation Management in the Colonial Chesapeake, 1607-1763, UNC Press for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture, 2010

2013 - Joshua Rothman
Flush Times and Fever Dreams: A Story of Capitalism and Slavery in the Age of Jackson, University of Georgia Press, 2012

University of Georgia Email SHA