The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting
The H. L. Mitchell Award

The H. L. Mitchell Award is given in recognition of a distinguished book concerning the history of the southern working class, including but not limited to industrial laborers and/or small farmers and agricultural laborers. Awarded in even-numbered years for a book published during the preceding two years, it will next be awarded at the 2016 annual meeting in St. Pete Beach, FL (for books published in 2014 and 2015). Entries should be submitted to the committee members listed below before March 1, 2016.

Manisha Sinha, Chair
Department of Afro-American Studies
303 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003

Connie L. Lester
Department of History
University of Central Florida
4000 Central Florida Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32816-1350

Paul Ortiz
Department of History
University of Florida
P.O. Box 117320
Gainesville, FL 32611-7320

The 2014 H. L. Mitchell Award Committee selected Adrienne Montieth Petty's book Standing Their Ground: Small Farmers in North Carolina Since the Civil War, published by Oxford University Press, 2013.

Past Winners

1994 - Emilio Zamora
The World of the Mexican Worker in Texas, Texas A&M University Press, 1993

1996 - No award given.

1998 - Tera W. Hunter
To 'Joy My Freedom: Southern Black Women's Lives and Labors After the Civil War, Harvard University Press, 1997

2000 - Michael Honey
Black Workers Remember: An Oral History of Segregation, Unionism, and the Freedom Struggle, University of California Press, 1999

2002 - Brian Kelly
Race, Class, and Power in the Alabama Coalfields, 1908-1921, University of Illinois Press, 2001

2004 - Robert Korstad
Civil Rights Unionism: Tobacco Workers and the Struggle for Democracy in the Mid-Twentieth-Century South, University of North Carolina Press, 2003

2006 - William P. Jones
The Tribe of Black Ulysses: African American Lumber Workers in the Jim Crow South, University of Illinois Press, 2005

2008 - Michael K. Honey
Going Down Jericho Road: The Memphis Strike: Martin Luther King's Last Champaign, W. W. Norton & Co., 2007

2010 - Seth Rockman
Scraping By: Wage Labor, Slavery, and Survival in Early Baltimore, The Johns Hopkins University Press, 2009

2012 - Erik S. Gellman and Jarod Roll
The Gospel of the Working Class: Labor's Southern Prophets in New Deal America, published by the University of Illinois Press, 2011.


University of Georgia Email SHA