The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting

The Jack Temple Kirby Award

The Jack Temple Kirby Award was established in 2010 to commemorate the scholarship and SHA service of Jack Kirby, who was the current SHA President when he died in August 2009. In keeping with Professor Kirby's scholarly contributions to southern history, the Kirby Prize will be awarded to authors of journal articles in either southern agricultural or environmental history over a two-year period. The award will be made in odd-numbered years for an article published during the previous two years. Submissions can be made by either the article authors or journal editors. The second award will be presented at the annual meeting in Little Rock in 2015 for an article published in 2013 or 2014. Off-prints or articles should be submitted via e-mail by June 1, 2015 to the SHA office at:

Southern Historical Association
Department of History
111 LeConte Hall
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-1602

2015 Committee

Megan Kate Nelson, Chair
Independent Scholar

James C. Giesen
Mississippi State University

Adam Rothman
Georgetown University


2013 Jack Temple Kirby Award Winner

Chris Evans's "The Plantation Hoe: The Rise and Fall of an Atlantic Commodity, 1650-1850," William & Mary Quarterly (January 2012)


Past Winners

James Giesen, "'The Truth about the Boll Weevil': The Nature of Planter Power in the Mississippi Delta," Environmental History 14 (October 2009)



University of Georgia Email SHA