The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting

John W. Blassingame Award

The John W. Blassingame Award is awarded for distinguished scholarship and/or mentorship in African American History. Recipients of the prize will be based on nominations from the SHA membership. In order to nominate a candidate for the award, a letter describing the person's accomplishments should be sent by e-mail to the SHA office ( by June 1, 2018, where it will be forwarded to committee members. At least two supporting letters should accompany each nomination (though more than two are welcome). For nominations involving a primary role of mentoring African American students, the committee particularly welcomes letters from students, either graduate or undergraduate. Nominees from all areas of the academic community, including those from community/junior colleges, historically black colleges and universities, as well as from large research universities, are welcome. Nominees will be considered based either on distinguished careers as mentors of African American students, personal scholarly accomplishments, or some combination of both. The seventh Blassingame Prize will be awarded at the 2018 SHA meeting in Birmingham, Alabama. The award consists of a $1,000 stipend, and will be awarded every third year.

Send submissions to:

Southern Historical Association
Department of History
111 LeConte Hall
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-1602

2018 Blassingame Committee

To be named


The 2015 John Blassingame Award committee selected Dr. Brenda E. Stevenson of the University of California, Los Angeles

Past Winners

2004 - Bettye Gardner and P. Sterling Stuckey (co-winners)
2006 - Sylvia Jacobs
2008 - Raymond Gavins
2010 - Arvarh Strickland and Rosalyn Terborg-Penn (co-winners)
2012 - Alton Hornsby Jr.
2015 - Brenda E. Stevenson


University of Georgia Email SHA