The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting

The Numan V. Bartley Award

The Numan V. Bartley Award was established by the SHA Executive Council and funded by Numan Bartley's posthumous bequest to the SHA to support research on southern historical topics by faculty at community colleges and other two-year colleges. The award was made every third year to one or more applicants, in amounts ranging from $1500 to $5000.

As of 2015, the Bartley Award has been discontinued.


2014 Numan V. Bartley Award Co-Winners

Carole S. Bucy, Volunteer State Community College, "Entering the Public Sphere: The Role of the W.C.T.U. in Paving the Way for Woman Suffrage in Tennessee."

Deborah J. Henry, St. Louis Community College, "Structures of Exclusion: Black Labor and the Building Trades in St. Louis, 1917-1966."

Past Winners

2011 - Leah E. Hagedorn, Tidewater Community College, for her project "Oral Histories of the Disabilities Civil Rights Movement in the United States South, 1945-2011."

2009 - William J. Billingsley, Saddleback College, for his project "The Politics and Economics of School Desegregation: The Crisis in Wilmington, North Carolina, 1964-1974."


University of Georgia Email SHA