The Southern Historical Association
About SHA The Southern Historical Association
Annual Meeting

The James A. Rawley Award

The James A. Rawley Award is awarded to a distinguished book dealing with secession and/or the sectional crisis published over a two-year period. The award will be given at the annual meeting in 2017 in Dallas, Texas, for a book published in 2015-2016. Copies should be forwarded to the following committee members no later than March 1, 2017.

Amy Murrell Taylor, Chair
Department of History
1715 Patterson Office Tower
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506

Jason Phillips
Department of History
202F Woodburn Hall
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV 26506-6303

Anne Sarah Rubin
Department of History
1000 Hilltop Circle
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Baltimore, MD 21250

2015 James A. Rawley Award Winner

Michael E. Woods's Emotional and Sectional Conflict in the Antebellum United States, published by Cambridge University Press, 2014

Past Winners

2007 - Eric H. Walter
William Lowndes Yancey and the Coming of the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2006

2009 - John Ashworth
Slavery, Capitalism, and Politics in the Antebellum Republic: The Coming of the Civil War, 1850-1861, Cambridge University Press, 2008

2011 - Stanley Harrold
Border War: Fighting over Slavery Before the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2010

2013 - Andre Fleche
The Revolution of 1861: The American Civil War in the Age of Nationalist Conflict, published by the University of North Carolina Press, 2012

University of Georgia Email SHA